Give it some Welly!

It’s been a while since my last post, but I was in China for a while where WordPress in inaccessible. I’m back however and I’ve promised myself that I will be more consistent. Anyway, back to blogging.

I am one lucky girl. Back in March, my dad spent two months working in Wellington, New Zealand. And I decided to join him and my mum for the first three weeks before I headed off to China.

So 2 days and four flights after leaving the UK, we finally touched down in the “coolest little capital in the world”. Wellington certainly lived up to that name. The hilly city is set against a green backdrop of mountains and woods, with the sea stretching out in front of it.
IMG_4065

The city itself is small but perfectly formed with cafés and bars at every turn. My personal favorite restaurant being Havana Bar, a cool and quirky joint in little wooden huts, nestled between tall office buildings. Another eatery recommendation would be Fidel’s which is a great spot for a bite to eat on a lunch time.

The Wellington Botanical Gardens are just a short, very steep walk form the centre and provide incredible views of the bay. IMG_4020

For more amazing views take one of the many walking route up to the top of Mount Victoria. If you’re a Lord of the Rings fan, some scenes from the Fellowship were filmed here. IMG_4115

For those interested in NZ history, the Te Papa Museum is a MUST. It covers geography, marine biology and the Maori history.

For those more interested in Middle Earth, not only is the airport full of LOTR sculptures, the Weta Workshop is a short bus ride from the centre. A must for fans visiting Wellington.

IMG_4072

The summertime in Wellington is glorious, and an absolute must for anyone visiting NZ. Take a run along the waterfront, sip on craft ales and NZ wines whilst sampling food from all over the world. Top notch.

IMG_4055

One thought on “Give it some Welly!

Leave a Reply

