Birmingham Bites

In between Spain and my next adventure to New Zealand, I managed to squeeze in a visit to all my friends at university in Birmingham.

I love Birmingham. It’s a great city with a bit of a bad rep. I feel a bit sorry for it because it doesn’t deserve it. It has great shopping, some great architecture, culture and great restaurants. I wanted to write about my 3 favourite places to eat in Brum, in case anyone fancies trying them.

Número uno. York’s Bakery Cafe. Located at the top of Newhall Street in the centre of the business district. They serve amazing brunches –  from fancy full english to my favourite avocado and feta smash on toast. The food is tasty and, according to my boyfriend, so is the coffee, although I cannot vouch for that as I detest the stuff. I have a sweet tooth and the range of hot chocolates definitely satisfies that! In addition to good grub, the décor is cool – a modern industrial style. Top marks!

Yorks Yorks 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next up; Bodega. Serving mouthwatering South American food, Bodega is located just off New Street on Bennett’s Hill. Booking is probably a good idea. The nachos are the best I’ve ever tasted and the sweet potato fries are yum. The service is second to none, and the cocktails are lush – especially if you happen to be there during 2 for 1.
Bodega

 

Finalmente, one of Birmingham’s few Michelin starred restaurants; Purnell’s. This one is definitely a treat, as the bill can be pretty steep. I want last year for my birthday and it was divine. We went for the 12 course tasting menu, and every mouthful was perfection. There was an element of theatre with dry ice and creative presentation.

 

 

PurnellsPurnells 2

 

These were two of the four desserts we had the pleasure of sampling. Absolutely stunning!

 

Let me know if anyone pays any of these a visit and give me your thoughts!!

PS featured image is of St Phillip’s Cathedral – Photo Credit goes to my boyfriend!

 

Leave a Reply

