The Start of Seville

I have been in Seville for 2 weeks now, so it is about time I wrote a blog about it. My family left 3 days ago, and I’m now adjusting myself to life as a student at the University of Pablo de Olavide.

Seville is an incredibly beautiful city. I have managed to find myself a flat right in the centre. I have 4 great flatmates – one is from Birmingham uni same as me, one from Scotland, one from Surrey and the other all the way from Canada.

I managed to see most of the main sites with my family when they were here, so now I am devoting my time to speaking Spanish and eating tapas.

There is so much to see in Seville. The main attraction is the Cathedral and its tower, La Giralda. The cathedral is huge – with stunning stained glass windows and a huge gold altar. You then walk up 35 ramps to the top of the tower, where you can get the most spectacular arial views of the city. The cathedral also has a beautiful courtyard filled with orange trees. At night, the cathedral is lit up in the most spectacular way – the best places to see it from is either the rooftop bar of the EME hotel directly next to it, or from the top of the Metropol Parasol (the largest wooden sculpture in the world). The parasol provides some the most incredible views of the city at night. You can go up to the top for 3 euros and get a free drink too.

IMG_2048

One of the other main tourist attractions is the Real Alcazar  – the Royal Palace. The interior is comprised of a lot of beautiful rooms with mosaics on the walls, and courtyards, but the gardens are the main attractions. With multiple sections, tall trees and wandering peacocks, it is easy to forget you are in the centre of a city.

DSC_0739

My favourite part is an underground room with a large pool in, where they used to go when it was too hot inside. It was so calm.

DSC_0773

Another example of Seville’s stunning architecture is La Plaza de Espana – which is a beautiful government building on the edge of the María Luis Parque. With man-made rivers with row boats, fountains and the park in the background it is a great place to sit and watch the world go by.

DSC_0254

We have eaten in some amazing tapas bar – my favourite being Tabernas Coloniales – where you have to put your name on a waiting list for a table outside, and wait for him to call your name. The food is authentic tapas and ridiculously cheap. We also tried some modern tapas restraints with fusion tapas – The Room Art Cusine and Ovejas Negras.

I am looking forward to exploring even more of Seville and to improving my Spanish.

More updates soon!

3 thoughts on “The Start of Seville

  1. It all sounds magical. Live every moment. By the way how long are you there? Since we are currently living in a building site we may just fly out?!! X
    AJ

    Like

Leave a Reply

